FPSE's Bargaining Coordination Committee actively monitors negotiations across the post-secondary education system and assists in coordinating bargaining. The committee works with FPSE's chief bargainers and reviews bargaining trends, undertakes research and identifies training needs. FPSE regularly offers labour relations training to member locals, at the committee level and for individual locals.

See Collective Agreements & Bargaining for more information and resources.


Douglas College Faculty Association
Devin Shaw

Staff Rep

Weldon Cowan

Local Reps


Local 1

Capilano University Faculty Association
Michael Begg

Local 2

Thompson Rivers University Faculty Association
Amy McLay Paterson

Local 3

Faculty Association of the College of New Caledonia
Mahi Aravind

Local 4

Douglas College Faculty Association
Devin Shaw (Chair)

Local 5

Kwantlen Faculty Association
Raphael Lagoutin

Local 6

College of the Rockies Faculty Association
Kevin Boehmer 

Local 7

University of the Fraser Valley Faculty & Staff Association
Michael Corman 

Local 8

Vancouver Island University Faculty Association
Jane Wodlinger 

Local 9

Okanagan College Faculty Association
Sean Johnston

Local 10

Selkirk College Faculty Association
Johnathan Vanderhoek

Local 11

Academic Workers’ Union (Coast Mountain College)
Sheree Ronaasen

Local 12

Camosun College Faculty Association
Michael Stewart

Local 14

Langara Faculty Association
Janet Douglas

Local 15

Vancouver Community College Faculty Association 
Frank Cosco

Local 16

North Island College Faculty Association
Erin McConomy (Brian Koehler - Jan 1, 2024)

Local 17

Thompson Rivers Open University Faculty Association
Mary Kruger

Local 19

Nicola Valley Institute of Technology Employees’ Association 
Kennedy Bergstrom

Local 21

Education and Training Employees' Association
c/o President, ETEA

Local 22

Emily Carr University Faculty Association
Ben Unterman

Exec Liaison

FPSE President
Brent Calvert

NRFC Liaison 

Ben Unterman (Local 22)

The Bargaining Coordination Committee works to improve the economic and professional welfare of the members through bargaining by facilitating the exchange of information on these matters among members and by providing assistance in the collective bargaining process (Constitution 3.2 and 3.10). It is recognized that collective action is necessary to maintain and improve the economic standing, professional rights, and working conditions of the members of FPSE.

In addition to those responsibilities and activities that may be directed to it by the Presidents’ Council or the AGM, this Committee will:

1. Monitor developments in contract clauses and develop strategies to protect and enhance the interest of the members of FPSE.

2. Develop and recommend to the Presidents’ Council a program of negotiations training and evaluate its implementation.

3. Facilitate the development of an effective system of bargaining coordination by the member associations.

4. Examine and recommend to the Presidents’ Council collective action in support of the policy statements of this Committee.

5. Advise the Presidents’ Council on the Strike/Lockout Defence Fund.

6.  Assist in the development of common bargaining objectives.

Reporting: Reports regularly to the FPSE President and the Presidents’ Council.

Composition: The Bargaining Coordination Committee is composed of one designated representative from each local. This representative shall be the Chief Negotiator or Chairperson of the Bargaining Committee from the local.

A member will be appointed by the Executive Committee, with voice but without vote, to act as liaison between the Standing Committee, the Executive, and Presidents' Council. 

The Non-Regular Faculty Committee may appoint one person to the Committee.

Term of Appointment: Locals shall endeavour to elect or appoint representatives for a two year term.

Meetings: Meetings of the Committee are held at the call of the Chair. Meetings shall normally be convened at such times as to allow co-ordination and review of each local's bargaining process including preparation, interim assessment and strategy. The number of meetings are limited only by the funding allocated to the Committee.

Chairperson: The Committee shall elect a new Chairperson at the last meeting of the Committee held prior to the convening of the Annual General Meeting and Convention.

The Committee shall endeavour to elect a Chairperson who has served on the Committee a previous term as a local representative.

The Chairperson is a voting member of the Committee.

The Chairperson or designate shall have observer status at meetings of the Presidents’ Council with voice but no vote. The responsibility of the Chairperson includes attendance by the Chairperson or designate at the Presidents’ Council meeting immediately subsequent to a meeting of the Committee or upon request of the FPSE President.

The Chairperson shall attend the Annual General Meeting and Convention.

The Convention shall provide orientation and planning opportunities for Committee Chairpersons and facilitate their meeting as a group.

The duly elected Chairperson of the Committee must be the designated representative of a local to continue being Chairperson.

Observers: By invitation of the Chair.

Quorum: A majority of those member locals that have appointed BCC representatives.

Voting: Positions adopted by consensus among designated representatives, otherwise by simple majority.

Funds: Budgetary allocation at the AGM including travel expenses for the designated representative.