FPSE's Pension Advisory Committee provides advice and information to the FPSE Presidents' Council and locals on pension-related issues. Through this committee and at member locals, FPSE also provides education and training and pension and retirement issues.

More information and resources on pensions and retirement is available in Pensions & Retirement.


Academic Workers’ Union (Coast Mountain College)
Bryan Breguet

Staff Rep

Monica Staff

Local Reps:


Local 1

Capilano University Faculty Association
Morna Fraser

Local 2

Thompson Rivers University Faculty Association
Mahtab Nazemi

Local 3

Faculty Association of the College of New Caledonia
Jacob Madjitey

Local 4

Douglas College Faculty Association
Reza Hosseini

Local 5

Kwantlen Faculty Association

Local 6

College of the Rockies Faculty Association 
Ben Hellewell

Local 7

University of the Fraser Valley Faculty & Staff Association
Curtis Magnuson

Local 8

Vancouver Island University Faculty Association
Scott Priestman

Local 9

Okanagan College Faculty Association
Randy Brown

Local 10

Selkirk College Faculty Association
Shannon Lanctot-Shah

Local 11

Academic Workers’ Union (Coast Mountain College)
Gord Weary

Local 12

Camosun College Faculty Association
Blair Fisher

Local 14

Langara Faculty Association
Bryan Breguet (Chair)

Local 15

Vancouver Community College Faculty Association 
Manav Bhanot

Local 16

North Island College Faculty Association
Sherrie Wang

Local 17

Thompson Rivers University Open Learning Faculty Association 
Gordon Rudolph

Local 19

Nicola Valley Institute of Technology Employees’ Association 
Lara-Lisa Condello

Local 21

Education & Training Employees' Association

Local 22

Emily Carr University of Art + Design Faculty Association
Julie York


Al Morrison 
Brenda Appleton

Exec Liaison FPSE Second Vice-President
Chris Jaeger/Michael Conlan
Trustees: Weldon Cowan 
Alison Woods
Chris Burnley

Joint FPSE/BCGEU Trustee (Retired)

Paul Ramsey

NRFC Liaison

Niall Christie

  1. The Pension Advisory Committee shall seek to improve the pension benefits available to plan members of the College Pension Plan.
  2. The Committee shall review the current investment policies of College Pension Plans and shall advise the Presidents’ Council, in its role as plan member partner, of any recommendations for change to policies and strategies.
  3. The Committee shall advise and, where applicable, provide pre-retirement and retirement information and services.
  4. As part of the trustee appointment process, the Committee will nominate candidates for FPSE trustees to Presidents’ Council and the Committee will advise Presidents’ Council on the retiree trustee appointment.
  5. The Pension Advisory Committee will provide a forum for communicating member concerns about the College Pension Plan rules to FPSE-appointed College Pension Plan trustees, and a forum for prioritizing any recommended future pension plan improvements.
  6. The Committee will provide a forum for general discussion and development of pension policy for locals that are non-participatory in the College Pension Plan.
  7. The Committee will monitor and review the effectiveness and relevancy of FPSE pension policy and, where possible, those of related organizations and unions with a view, from time to time, of recommending updates, changes and additions.  

Reporting: Reports regularly to the FPSE President and the Presidents’ Council.

Composition: Each local may name a member as their designated representative to the Committee. Local representatives to the Pension Advisory Committee must not be in receipt of College Pension Plan benefits and must maintain active employment at the institution while serving on the committee.

At its first meeting after the Annual General Meeting, the Presidents’ Council will appoint up to two additional retiree members from among nominees put forward by FPSE locals. A nominee must be a former member of a FPSE local who is currently receiving a pension under the College Pension Plan.

A member will be appointed by the Executive Committee, with voice but without vote, to act as liaison between the Standing Committee, the Executive, and Presidents' Council. 

The Non-Regular Faculty Committee may appoint one person to the Committee.

No trustee appointed to the College Pension Board of Trustees may also serve as a local, retired or NRFC representative to the Pension Advisory Committee.

Term of Appointment: Committee members will normally be appointed for a term of four years. Members are expected to attend all meetings of the Committee. If members are unable to attend regularly, their appointment may be rescinded by the Presidents’ Council.

Chairperson: The Chairperson will be elected from and by the Committee to serve a two year term.

The Chairperson or designate shall have observer status at meetings of the Presidents’ Council with voice but no vote. The responsibility of the Chairperson includes attendance by the Chairperson or designate at the Presidents’ Council meeting immediately subsequent to a meeting of the Committee or upon request of the FPSE President.

The Chairperson shall attend the Annual General Meeting and Convention. The Convention shall provide orientation and planning opportunities for Committee Chairpersons and facilitate their meeting as a group.

Meetings: Such meetings as are required to fulfill its responsibilities, limited only by the funding allocated to the Committee. The Committee may substitute or include a workshop or conference for a meeting.

Observers: By invitation of the Chair. Observers from FPSE locals may attend meetings, at the locals’ expense, for succession purposes.

Trustees: FPSE-appointed trustees are encouraged to attend PAC meetings/events with voice but no vote. FPSE will pay expenses for the trustees for this purpose.

Quorum: A majority of appointed representatives.

Voting: Positions adopted by consensus among designated representatives; otherwise by simple majority of those voting. Minority reports accepted. (By-Law #6.)

Funds: As allocated in the annual budget.