Disability Management & Rehabilitation Committee

FPSE's Disability Management & Rehabilitation Committee has a mandate to assist locals to identify and assess the disability and rehabilitation needs of members and to support the development of local Joint Rehabilitation Committees. The committee is working on a best practices manual to assist locals and individual members dealing with disability issues.


Vancouver Island University Faculty Association
Anna Atkinson

Staff Rep

Monica Staff

Local Reps


Local 1

Capilano University Faculty Association
Kirsten McIlveen

Local 2

Thompson Rivers University Faculty Association
Wendy Hulko

Local 3

Faculty Association of the College of New Caledonia
Marta Tejero 

Local 4

Douglas College Faculty Association
Laurie Beckwith

Local 5

Kwantlen Faculty Association
Rachelle Hollaway

Local 6

College of the Rockies Faculty Association
Sheldon Dwyer 

Local 7

University of the Fraser Valley Faculty & Staff Association
Beverly Jones

Local 8

Vancouver Island University Faculty Association
Anna Atkinson (Chair)

Local 9

Okanagan College Faculty Association
Laura Loewen

Local 10

Selkirk College Faculty Association
Lisa Gates

Local 11

Academic Workers’ Union (Coast Mountain College)
Michele Cook

Local 12

Camosun College Faculty Association
Jeanne Iribarne

Local 14

Langara Faculty Association

Local 15

Vancouver Community College Faculty Association

Local 16

North Island College Faculty Association
Tara-Jean Wenc

Local 17

Thompson Rivers University Open Learning Faculty Association
Duncan Low

Local 19

Nicola Valley Institute of Technology Employees’ Association
Emily Sall

Local 21

Education & Training Employees' Association

Local 22

Emily Carr University of Art + Design Faculty Association
Joe O'Brien

Local 24

Quest University Faculty Union

NRFC Liaison


Exec Liaison

FPSE Member-at-Large
Tara Lyster

The Disability Management and Rehabilitation Committee shall assist FPSE locals to identify and assess the current and future disability and rehabilitation needs of their members, and shall promote means of enabling FPSE members individually and collectively to develop their own local Joint Rehabilitation Committees.

  1. To create an awareness of worker disability issues among the members of FPSE locals.
  2. To foster prevention of illness and encourage wellness in every college workplace.
  3. To gather and disseminate information to member locals on disability management and rehabilitation needs, activities, and services.
  4. To maintain ongoing contact with each member local Disability Management & Rehabilitation Committee through a designated representative at each local.
  5. To recommend changes to provincial and federal legislation and regulations that may impact on worker health.
  6. To form a Disability Management & Rehabilitation Committee in each local that is party to the Common Agreement disability plan, that complies with the terms of reference for Rehabilitation Committees, and to take such actions necessary to promote safety awareness amongst the members of the local.
  7. To actively work to promote the accommodation and meaningful reintegration of disabled and injured workers back into the workplace.
  8. To assist members with their sick leave claims and appeals.
  9. To foster awareness and understanding of the impact of illness and disability issues in the work place.
  10. To join with other external groups to promote healthy workplaces, and the fair and equitable treatment of people with disabilities.
  11. To work with other committees, especially OHSC, to gather and disseminate information about rehabilitation, duty to accommodate, and disability management.
  12. To recommend contract language on rehabilitation, duty to accommodate, and disability management to negotiating committees, for incorporation in collective agreements.

Reporting: Reports regularly to the FPSE President and the Presidents’ Council.

Composition: Each local shall name a specific member as their designated representative to the committee. The Non-Regular Faculty Committee may appoint one person to the committee.

A member will be appointed by the Executive Committee, with voice but without vote, to act as liaison between the Standing Committee, the Executive, and Presidents' Council.

Term of Appointment: Locals shall endeavour to elect or appoint representatives for a four year staggered term.

Chairperson: The committee shall elect a Chairperson at the last committee meeting held prior to the convening of the Annual General Meeting and Convention. The committee shall endeavour to elect a Chairperson who has served on the committee a previous term as a local representative.

The Chairperson or designate shall have observer status at meetings of the Presidents’ Council with voice but no vote. The responsibility of the Chairperson includes attendance by the Chairperson or designate at the Presidents’ Council meeting immediately subsequent to a meeting of the Committee or upon request of the FPSE President.

The Chairperson shall attend the Annual General Meeting and Convention. The Convention shall provide orientation and planning opportunities for Committee Chairpersons and facilitate their meeting as a group.

The duly elected Chairperson of the Committee shall continue to serve as Chairperson where the Chairperson ceases to be a designated local representative to the committee.

Meetings: Such meetings as are required to fulfill its responsibilities, limited only by the funding allocated to the committee. The committee may substitute or include a workshop or conference for a meeting.

Observers: By invitation of the Chair.

Quorum: A majority of locals.

Voting: Positions adopted by consensus among designated representatives; otherwise by simple majority of those voting (By-Law #6).

Funds: As allocated in the annual budget.