Improving working conditions for non-regular faculty and supporting initiatives to enhance job security for members is a top priority for FPSE. The Non-Regular Faculty Committee assists in developing and coordinating strategies to increase permanent employment and improve conditions for non-regular faculty in the system.


Ben Unterman

Staff Rep

Monica Staff

Local Reps:


Local 1

Capilano University Faculty Association
Susan Summers 

Local 2

Thompson Rivers University Faculty Association
Amy Tucker (Co-Representative)

Local 3

Faculty Association of the College of New Caledonia
Irena Doering

Local 4

Douglas College Faculty Association
June Madison

Local 5

Kwantlen Faculty Association
Elliot Montpellier 

Local 6

College of the Rockies Faculty Association
Julie Bond

Local 7

University of the Fraser Valley Faculty & Staff Association
Toni Latour

Local 8

Vancouver Island University Faculty Association
Bryn Skibo

Local 9

Okanagan College Faculty Association
Moos van Capel

Local 10

Selkirk College Faculty Association
Renee Jakson-Harper

Local 11

Academic Workers’ Union (Coast Mountain College)
Ryan Elnar

Local 12

Camosun College Faculty Association
Kendall Adam

Local 14

Langara Faculty Association
Niall Christie

Local 15

Vancouver Community College Faculty Association
Shirene Salamation

Local 16

North Island College Faculty Association
Dan Webb

Local 17

Thompson Rivers University Open Learning Faculty Association
Amy Tucker

Local 19

Nicola Valley Institute of Technology Employees’ Association

Local 21

Education & Training Employees' Association

Local 22

Emily Carr University of Art + Design Faculty Association
Ben Unterman

Exec Liaison

FPSE President
Brent Calvert

The Non-Regular Faculty Committee works to promote better and more consistent representation of the interests of those members of FPSE locals who are involuntarily deprived of job security, salary or benefits normally accorded faculty within their respective locals.

Liaison: The Non-Regular Faculty Committee shall have the right to appoint a liaison person to each FPSE Standing Committee and to appoint a representative to the Provincial Bargaining Committee with voice but no vote.

In addition to those responsibilities and activities that may be directed to it by the Presidents’ Council or the AGM, this Committee will:

  1.  Monitor developments in the salary, working conditions, and employment security of non-regular faculty and develop strategies to protect and enhance the interest of non-regular faculty.
  2.  Monitor the effects of the removal of mandatory retirement at FPSE locals and the effectiveness of any Transition to Retirement initiatives and their compliance with FPSE policies. Make action recommendations on Transition to Retirement matters from time to time as deemed necessary.
  3. Develop and recommend to the Presidents’ Council a program of bargaining and lobbying objectives to advance the interests of non-regular faculty.
  4. Examine and recommend to the Presidents’ Council collective action in support of the policy statements of this Committee.

Reporting: Reports regularly to the FPSE President and the Presidents’ Council.

Composition: The Committee is composed of one designated representative from each local.  As much a possible, Non-Regular Faculty Committee representatives and non-regular liaisons shall be non-regular faculty.

A member will be appointed by the Executive Committee, with voice but without vote, to act as liaison between the Standing Committee, the Executive, and Presidents' Council. 

Meetings: Meetings as required by the Committee to fulfill its responsibilities, limited only by the funding allocated to the Committee.

Term of Appointment: Locals shall endeavour to elect or appoint representatives for a two year term.

Chairperson: The Committee shall elect a new Chairperson at the fall meeting.

The Committee shall endeavour to elect a Chairperson who has served on the Committee a previous term as a local representative.

The Chairperson or designate shall have observer status at meetings of the Presidents’ Council with voice but no vote. The responsibility of the Chairperson includes attendance by the Chairperson or designate at the Presidents’ Council meeting immediately subsequent to a meeting of the Committee or upon request of the FPSE President.

The Chairperson shall attend the Annual General Meeting and Convention. The Convention shall provide orientation and planning opportunities for Committee Chairpersons and facilitate their meeting as a group.

The duly elected Chairperson of the Committee shall continue to serve as Chairperson where the Chairperson ceases to be a designated local representative to the Committee.

Observers: By invitation of the Chair.

Quorum: A majority of locals.

Voting: Positions adopted by consensus among designated representatives; otherwise by simple majority (By-Law #6).

Funds: As allocated in the annual budget.

The North American Alliance for Fair Employment (NAFFE) is a network of organizations concerned about the growth of contingent work—including part-time jobs, temping, sub-contracting—and its impact on the well being of all workers.